McDonald’s FDD Item 19: Financial Performance Representations | What Franchisees Need to Know
McDonald’s FDD Item 19 is one of the most closely studied financial performance disclosures in the franchise industry, and for good reason. McDonald’s is among the minority of franchise systems that actually provides financial performance representations in its Franchise Disclosure Document, giving prospective franchisees access to average and median gross sales data across its U.S. franchise network. According to recent FDD filings, average annual gross sales for McDonald’s franchised restaurants exceed $3.5 million per location. That figure sounds impressive on its face. But as any franchise attorney will tell you, gross sales and net profit are two entirely different numbers.
At Lopes Law LLC, we review McDonald’s FDDs regularly for prospective franchisees evaluating both new franchise awards and resale opportunities. The pattern we see most often is a buyer who fixates on the $3.5 million average sales number without understanding what it costs to generate that revenue, how McDonald’s unique rent structure erodes margins, and why the average can be deeply misleading for a specific location. This guide breaks down everything you need to know about Item 19 financial performance representations in the context of the McDonald’s system.
What Does McDonald’s Item 19 Actually Disclose?
McDonald’s is one of the more transparent franchise systems when it comes to Item 19. The disclosure typically includes several categories of financial performance data for franchised restaurants operating in the United States:
- Average and median gross sales for all franchised restaurants in the system, broken down by restaurant type (traditional, drive-through locations, and other formats).
- Sales breakdowns by category, including dine-in sales, drive-through sales, and delivery platform revenue. These breakdowns matter because they reveal the channels generating the revenue and the associated costs that differ by channel.
- Performance ranges showing the spread between the highest-performing and lowest-performing quartiles of the franchise system. This range is critical for understanding how far individual results can deviate from the average.
- Number of locations included in the dataset, allowing you to verify whether the sample represents the full franchise system or only a subset.
What McDonald’s Item 19 does not disclose is equally important. The disclosure does not include net profit, operating expenses, labor costs, food and paper costs, or the franchisee’s actual take-home income after all obligations are met. It also does not break down results by geographic region or market density, which means a location in Manhattan and a location in rural Oklahoma are averaged together despite having radically different economics.
Why Do Average Gross Sales Exceed $3.5 Million, and What Does That Actually Mean?
McDonald’s system-wide average gross sales exceeding $3.5 million per location reflects the brand’s extraordinary consumer demand, operational efficiency, and market dominance. For context, the average unit volume for all franchise restaurant brands is significantly lower: most QSR (Quick Service Restaurant) franchise systems report average unit volumes between $800,000 and $1.5 million. McDonald’s is an outlier by a wide margin.
But gross sales are the starting point, not the finish line. Here is how the revenue breaks down in approximate terms for a McDonald’s franchise generating $3.5 million in annual gross sales:
- Royalty (4% of gross sales): $140,000
- Rent (8.5% to 12%+ of gross sales): $297,500 to $420,000 or more
- Food and paper costs (approximately 30% to 32%): $1,050,000 to $1,120,000
- Labor costs (approximately 24% to 28%): $840,000 to $980,000
- Marketing fund contribution (approximately 4% to 4.5%): $140,000 to $157,500
- Other operating expenses (insurance, maintenance, utilities, technology fees, supplies): $200,000 to $350,000
When you subtract these costs from $3.5 million, the estimated operating profit for a well-run McDonald’s franchise typically falls in the range of $350,000 to $700,000 annually, or roughly 10% to 20% of gross sales. That is a viable income, but it is a fraction of the $3.5 million headline number. The spread between $350,000 and $700,000 reflects the enormous variability in individual unit economics, particularly the rent percentage that McDonald’s charges each franchisee.
How Does McDonald’s Rent Structure Affect the Real Meaning of Item 19?
McDonald’s business model is fundamentally a real estate business, and this is the single most important factor that Item 19 does not fully capture. Unlike most franchise systems where franchisees find and lease their own real estate, McDonald’s owns or controls the real estate for the vast majority of its franchise locations. The franchisor then subleases the property to the franchisee at a rent calculated as a percentage of gross sales.
This rent percentage is individually negotiated and can range from approximately 8.5% for high-volume locations to 12% or more for lower-volume or newer locations. In some cases, the percentage rent includes a base rent floor, meaning the franchisee pays the greater of a fixed dollar amount or the percentage of sales. This structure means that as your sales increase, your rent obligation increases proportionally. It also means that rent is the single largest variable cost for a McDonald’s franchisee and the one with the greatest impact on profitability.
Key insight: A McDonald’s franchisee generating $3.5 million in gross sales at a 10% rent rate pays $350,000 in rent. At a 12% rate, that same franchisee pays $420,000, a difference of $70,000 that comes directly out of the bottom line. This $70,000 swing can represent 10% to 20% of the franchisee’s total operating profit.
This is why reading Item 19 without understanding Item 6 fees is a critical mistake. For a complete picture of McDonald’s franchise economics, prospective buyers must read Item 19 (financial performance), Item 6 (other fees), and Item 7 (estimated initial investment) together. Each item tells part of the story; none tells the whole story alone.
What Is the Difference Between Gross Sales and Franchisee Net Income?
This distinction is the most common source of confusion among prospective McDonald’s franchisees. Gross sales represent total revenue collected at the restaurant register before any expenses are subtracted. Net income, sometimes expressed as EBITDA (Earnings Before Interest, Taxes, Depreciation, and Amortization), represents what the franchisee actually retains after paying all operating costs, royalties, rent, and other obligations.
McDonald’s Item 19 discloses gross sales. It does not disclose EBITDA or net income. This means a prospective franchisee looking at the Item 19 data is seeing the top line of the income statement, not the bottom line. The gap between the two is substantial.
Industry benchmarks suggest that a well-managed McDonald’s franchise may achieve an EBITDA margin of approximately 15% to 20% of gross sales. For a unit doing $3.5 million in gross sales, that translates to approximately $525,000 to $700,000 in EBITDA. However, EBITDA does not account for debt service on the initial investment (which can be $1 million to $2.2 million or more), income taxes, or depreciation on equipment and leasehold improvements. After those additional costs, actual cash-in-pocket to the franchisee may be meaningfully lower.
Why EBITDA matters more than gross sales
When evaluating any franchise investment, the metric that matters is your anticipated cash-on-cash return: how much cash the business generates relative to the cash you invested. Gross sales tell you nothing about this return. EBITDA gets you closer. And the actual cash flow after debt service, taxes, and reserves gets you to the real answer. At Lopes Law LLC, we help clients build pro forma financial models that start with Item 19 gross sales data and work through each cost layer to arrive at a realistic cash flow projection.
How Should Prospective Franchisees Use McDonald’s Item 19 Data During Validation?
Item 19 is most valuable when used as the foundation for targeted franchise validation conversations with existing McDonald’s franchisees. The validation process involves contacting current and former franchisees listed in Item 20 of the FDD and asking specific financial and operational questions.
When you have McDonald’s Item 19 data in hand, you can ask existing franchisees pointed questions that go beyond the disclosure:
- Does the disclosed system average match your location’s actual gross sales?
- What is your rent percentage, and how does it compare to other operators you know?
- What are your actual food and paper costs as a percentage of sales?
- What is your labor cost percentage, and how has it changed in the last two years?
- What is your approximate EBITDA or operating profit as a percentage of gross sales?
- What expenses surprised you that were not apparent from the FDD?
- How long did it take for your location to reach the system average in sales?
- If you are purchasing a resale, what was the location’s actual performance for the last three years?
These questions turn Item 19 from a static data point into a dynamic investigation tool. The answers you receive from 8 to 12 existing franchisees will give you a far more accurate picture than the FDD alone provides.
Need a McDonald’s FDD Reviewed Before You Invest?
At Lopes Law LLC, our $3,000 flat-fee FDD validation review includes a detailed Item 19 analysis, cost modeling, and a franchise validation question script tailored to the McDonald’s system.
What Are the Most Common Mistakes Prospective Franchisees Make When Reading McDonald’s Item 19?
After reviewing hundreds of FDDs across dozens of franchise systems, including McDonald’s, the same mistakes recur with prospective buyers who read Item 19 without professional guidance:
Mistake 1: Treating the average as a guarantee
The average gross sales figure is a mathematical calculation, not a performance guarantee. If the system average is $3.5 million but the bottom quartile of locations does $2.2 million in gross sales, a prospective buyer who assumes they will hit $3.5 million is making an unsupported assumption. Always look at the median and the distribution range, not just the average.
Mistake 2: Ignoring the rent variable
Prospective buyers often underestimate how much McDonald’s percentage rent affects their bottom line. Two franchisees with identical gross sales can have dramatically different profit margins based solely on their rent percentage. A 3.5% difference in rent rate on $3.5 million in sales equals $122,500 annually.
Mistake 3: Confusing gross sales with profit
This is the most dangerous mistake. A buyer who sees “$3.5 million in average sales” and assumes the franchisee takes home $3.5 million is off by a factor of five to ten. The actual owner’s discretionary income after all costs, debt service, and taxes is typically a small fraction of gross revenue.
Mistake 4: Failing to cross-reference Item 19 with Items 6 and 7
Item 19 shows revenue. Item 6 shows the ongoing fees that reduce that revenue. Item 7 shows the upfront investment that must be financed and repaid from operating income. A buyer who reads Item 19 in isolation is looking at one dimension of a three-dimensional financial picture.
Mistake 5: Not accounting for delivery platform economics
McDonald’s Item 19 increasingly includes delivery revenue through third-party platforms. While delivery sales contribute to the gross sales total, they carry higher costs: platform commissions of 15% to 30%, additional packaging costs, and the operational complexity of managing delivery alongside in-store and drive-through orders. A location where 20% of gross sales come through delivery has a materially different cost structure than one where 95% of sales are drive-through.
A Client Scenario: The $2.8 Million Location That Nearly Became a $400,000 Mistake
A client came to us evaluating the purchase of an existing McDonald’s franchise in a mid-Atlantic suburb. The seller’s broker presented the opportunity as a “below-average performer with upside potential,” noting that the location’s gross sales of approximately $2.8 million were below the system average of $3.5 million.
Our FDD review revealed several critical factors the broker’s pitch had not emphasized. First, the location’s rent percentage was 11.8%, near the top of the range. On $2.8 million in sales, that translated to $330,400 in annual rent. Second, the location’s labor costs had been running at 29% of sales, above the system benchmark, due to a tight local labor market and minimum wage increases in the state. Third, the asking price of $1.6 million for the franchise transfer would require approximately $1.2 million in financing at prevailing interest rates, creating an annual debt service obligation of roughly $155,000.
When we modeled the actual economics, the location’s projected EBITDA was approximately $310,000, and after debt service, the buyer’s pre-tax cash flow would have been approximately $155,000 annually. On a $400,000 cash down payment plus working capital, that represented a cash-on-cash return of approximately 32%, which is reasonable but far below what the buyer had assumed based on the $2.8 million gross sales figure. The buyer had initially projected a $500,000 annual income based on the system average in Item 19.
The buyer ultimately proceeded with the purchase after renegotiating the price down to $1.35 million, but only after understanding the true financial picture. Without the Item 19 analysis and cost modeling, the buyer would have overpaid by approximately $250,000 and been deeply disappointed by the actual returns.
What Is the Legal Significance of McDonald’s Item 19 Disclosures?
Under the FTC Franchise Rule (16 C.F.R. Part 436), McDonald’s is only permitted to make financial performance representations that appear in Item 19 of the FDD or in a supplemental written document that complies with the Rule’s requirements. This has several practical consequences for prospective franchisees:
- Any verbal earnings claims made by McDonald’s representatives, franchise brokers, or development agents that go beyond what is disclosed in Item 19 are unauthorized. If a development representative tells you “this location will do $4 million easily” and that claim is not substantiated in the FDD, it is a potential FTC Rule violation.
- You cannot legally rely on unauthorized earnings claims. If you invest based on verbal projections that exceed the Item 19 data and the location underperforms, your legal recourse is limited because you relied on information that was not part of the authorized disclosure.
- If the Item 19 data itself is materially misleading, you may have claims under the FTC Franchise Rule, applicable state franchise acts, and state fraud statutes. A misleading Item 19 could include selective data presentation, outdated figures, or data drawn from an unrepresentative sample of the system.
Important: During McDonald’s discovery process, if any representative shares financial projections, spreadsheets, or “pro forma” income statements that are not included in the FDD’s Item 19, document what was shared and bring it to your franchise attorney immediately. At Lopes Law LLC, we evaluate all financial representations against the FDD to identify potential unauthorized earnings claims.
How Does McDonald’s Item 19 Compare to Other Major QSR Brands?
McDonald’s is among the most transparent QSR franchisors when it comes to Item 19 disclosure. Many competing systems provide less data or no financial performance representations at all. Here is a general comparison framework:
- McDonald’s: Provides average and median gross sales data, broken down by restaurant type and sales channel. Does not disclose profitability or operating expenses.
- Some competing QSR brands provide only gross sales averages with no median, no quartile breakdown, and limited information about what percentage of units achieve the stated average. This makes their Item 19 less useful for investment analysis.
- Other major brands provide no Item 19 at all, meaning any financial performance claims made during the sales process are unauthorized under the FTC Rule.
The fact that McDonald’s provides Item 19 data at all puts it ahead of many franchise systems in terms of transparency. However, transparency about gross sales without corresponding expense data still leaves prospective franchisees with an incomplete picture. At Lopes Law LLC, we always advise clients that Item 19 transparency is a positive signal, but it does not eliminate the need for independent financial analysis and validation.
What Should You Do Before Investing in a McDonald’s Franchise?
If you are evaluating a McDonald’s franchise opportunity, whether a new location or an existing resale, here is the process we recommend to our clients:
- Get the most recent FDD. McDonald’s updates its FDD annually. Make sure you have the current year’s filing, not a version from a prior year.
- Have the FDD reviewed by a franchise attorney. A professional FDD review covers all 23 items, not just Item 19. Your attorney should cross-reference Item 19 with Item 6, Item 7, Item 8 (restrictions on sources), and Item 17 (renewal, termination, and transfer terms).
- Build a pro forma financial model. Start with the Item 19 gross sales data, layer in the costs from Item 6 and your own market research, and project your actual cash flow. Do not rely on the gross sales number alone.
- Conduct franchise validation. Contact a minimum of 8 to 12 existing McDonald’s franchisees to verify the financial data and learn about the operational reality of running a McDonald’s location.
- Negotiate the specific terms of your franchise agreement, including the rent percentage, territory protections, and any site-specific conditions. The FDD discloses the system’s standard terms, but your individual agreement may include negotiable elements.
- Understand the total capital requirement. McDonald’s initial investment ranges from approximately $1.3 million to $2.3 million for a new traditional restaurant. Resale prices vary widely based on location performance. Make sure your financing structure supports the actual investment required, not just the franchise fee.
At Lopes Law LLC, our $3,000 flat-fee FDD validation review covers each of these steps and provides a written report that includes a detailed Item 19 analysis, cost benchmarking, and a customized franchise validation question script. We help clients make informed investment decisions based on data, not assumptions.
Frequently Asked Questions About McDonald’s FDD Item 19
Reach out, we are friendly. Call now for a free consultation at (267) 777-9117 or schedule your free 20-minute consultation online.
For more guidance on understanding franchise financial data, read our posts on understanding Item 19 financial performance representations, what an FDD review includes, and how to conduct franchise validation.
Protect Your Franchise Investment
At Lopes Law LLC, our $3,000 flat-fee FDD validation review covers every item in the McDonald’s FDD, including a detailed Item 19 financial analysis. Free 20-minute consultation to get started.